The Matryoshka Print

For as long as I can remember, a set of matryoshka dolls has lived in my room. The set belonged to one of my grandmas, but was at some point passed along to me. The unique babushkas, with their little round cheeks and scarves tied around their heads, have always charmed me. DSC01581

More recently, as I’ve become more interested in creating my own prints, I decided that a matryoshka doll would be a neat thing to make. The quirky idea of it all was very much me.

DSC01588

As I created this print, I thought to myself about where it should live. I decided to put it on a shirt, making the long sleeve out of two old Ts of my dad. I added elbow patches with some scrap fabric a friend had given me. Surprisingly enough, it also had matryoshka dolls on it.

DSC01597

And voila, a new shirt!

Leave a comment